Home / news / Press Releases

Press Releases

Mullin Recognizes Oklahoma Law Enforcement During National Police Week

f t # e
Washington, May 16, 2018 | comments

During National Police Week, Congressman Markwayne Mullin (OK-2) recognizes the dedication and sacrifice of law enforcement officers in Oklahoma and across the country.

“The men and women of our law enforcement put their lives on the line each day to make sure that those in harm’s way get home safely to their families,” said Mullin.  “During National Police Week, I want to express my gratitude to Oklahoma’s law enforcement officers, the Capitol Police on Capitol Hill, and all of our nation’s law enforcement who stand willing to pay the ultimate sacrifice to protect their communities.”

Just last week, law enforcement officers in Talihina faced an active shooter while serving an arrest warrant.  On Friday, May 11th, Oklahoma Highway Patrol troopers and Talihina Police Department officers returned fire at a building in downtown Talihina.  Five officers were injured during the shootout.  Thankfully, all have been treated and released from the hospital.

In 1962, President Kennedy proclaimed May 15th as National Peace Officers Memorial Day and the calendar week in which May 15th falls as National Police Week.  Established by a joint resolution of Congress in 1962, National Police Week pays special recognition to those law enforcement officers who have lost their lives in the line of duty.

The National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund in Washington, D.C. memorializes the fallen officers of our country.  This year, the names of 9 Oklahomans will be added to the Memorial.

·         William H Johnston of the Bristow, Oklahoma Police Department

·         Sean Freedom Cookson of the Craig County, Oklahoma Sheriff’s Office

·         Edward Jason Wright of the Logan County, Oklahoma Sheriff's Office

·         David James Wade of the Logan County, Oklahoma Sheriff's Office

·         Stephen Roshawn Jenkins Sr. of the Oklahoma Department of Corrections

·         D Heath Meyer of the Oklahoma Highway Patrol

·         Shack Palmer of the Payne County, Oklahoma Sheriff's Office

·         Henry Lester Cotton of the Perkins, Oklahoma Police Department

·         Justin Michael Terney of Tecumseh, Oklahoma Police Department

Mullin recently penned a weekly column about the dedication and sacrifice of law enforcement officials titled “The Peacemakers of our Communities.”

f t # e

Stay Connected

Request my newsletter to stay up to date on the latest news from my office

Office Locations

Request a meeting or find out where you can meet our team
  • Washington, DC Office
    1113 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 Phone: (202) 225-2701 Fax: (202) 225-3038 Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00am-6:00pm ET
  • McAlester District Office
    1 E. Choctaw, Suite 175 McAlester, OK 74501 Phone: (918) 423-5951 Fax: (918) 423-1940 Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm CT
  • Muskogee District Office
    3109 Azalea Park Dr. Muskogee, OK 74401 Phone: (918) 687-2533 Fax: (918) 686-0128 Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm CT
  • Claremore District Office
    200 S. Lynn Riggs Blvd. Claremore, OK 74017 Phone: (918) 283-6262 Fax: (918) 923-6451 Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm CT
Washington, DC Office
McAlester District Office
Muskogee District Office
Claremore District Office