Home / news / Press Releases

Press Releases

Mullin Statement on Passage of Overdose Prevention and Patient Safety Act

f t # e
Washington, May 17, 2018 | comments

Congressman Markwayne Mullin (OK-2) released the following statement after H.R. 5795, the Overdose Prevention and Patient Safety Act, passed out of the Energy and Commerce Committee by a vote of 35 to 17, with 7 Democrats voting in favor of the bill.

“The Overdose Prevention and Patient Safety Act is and always will be about putting the patient’s well-being first,” said Mullin.  “By aligning 42 CFR Part 2 with HIPAA, H.R. 5795 provides clarity to doctors treating patients with a substance use disorder history and brings this outdated law into the 21st century.  I am pleased to see the committee address the problem of stigmatization and segregation of patients struggling with addiction and I am proud of the strong, bipartisan work our committee did today to fight the opioid epidemicI look forward to a swift passage of the legislation on the House floor.”

Alongside Congressman Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Congressman Mullin has championed the Overdose Prevention and Patient Safety Act after becoming the main sponsor of the legislation in October 2017.

f t # e

Stay Connected

Request my newsletter to stay up to date on the latest news from my office

Office Locations

Request a meeting or find out where you can meet our team
  • Washington, DC Office
    1113 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 Phone: (202) 225-2701 Fax: (202) 225-3038 Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00am-6:00pm ET
  • McAlester District Office
    1 E. Choctaw, Suite 175 McAlester, OK 74501 Phone: (918) 423-5951 Fax: (918) 423-1940 Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm CT
  • Muskogee District Office
    3109 Azalea Park Dr. Muskogee, OK 74401 Phone: (918) 687-2533 Fax: (918) 686-0128 Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm CT
  • Claremore District Office
    200 S. Lynn Riggs Blvd. Claremore, OK 74017 Phone: (918) 283-6262 Fax: (918) 923-6451 Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm CT
Washington, DC Office
McAlester District Office
Muskogee District Office
Claremore District Office