Home / news / Press Releases

Press Releases

House Passes Amendments to Stigler Act, Removes Blood Quantum Requirements

f t # e
Washington, September 12, 2018 | comments

Today the House unanimously passed H.R. 2606, the Stigler Act Amendments of 2018.  The legislation would allow land held by the Five Tribes—the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations—to remain restricted, even if the heir to the land has less than ½ blood quantum. 


“When the Stigler Act of 1947 was passed over 60 years ago, the federal government mandated a ½ blood quantum requirement for restricted land owned by members of the Five Tribes,” said Mullin.  “No other tribes in the United States faces this discriminatory measure.  For Native Americans, our land is an important part of our heritage and updating the Stigler Act will allow the land allotted to our ancestors to keep its restricted status and remain in the bloodline.  I am proud to be an original cosponsor of this legislation to let members of the Five Tribes keep the restricted status of their land within their families for generations to come.”


H.R. 2606 was introduced in May of 2017 by Congressman Cole, Mullin, Lucas, and Russell.  Congressman Mullin is an original cosponsor of H.R. 2606.  The bill now goes to the Senate for consideration.


As one of two Native Americans currently serving in Congress, Congressman Mullin is a strong advocate for tribes and Native Americans.  Mullin has sponsored a number of bills to advance Native American priorities including improving rural broadband access, allowing tribes access to federal opioid grants, protecting ancestral burial grounds, and reforming the Indian Health Services.  He is a proud member of the Cherokee Nation.  He and his wife are raising their five kids on the same family farm where Mullin was raised.

f t # e

Stay Connected

Request my newsletter to stay up to date on the latest news from my office

Office Locations

Request a meeting or find out where you can meet our team
  • Washington, DC Office
    2421 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 Phone: (202) 225-2701 Fax: (202) 225-3038 Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00am-6:00pm ET
  • McAlester District Office
    1 E. Choctaw, Suite 175 McAlester, OK 74501 Phone: (918) 423-5951 Fax: (918) 423-1940 Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm CT
  • Muskogee District Office
     811-A N. York St., Muskogee, OK 74403 Phone: (918) 687-2533 Fax: (918) 686-0128 Hours: By appointment only.
  • Claremore District Office
    223 W. Patti Page Blvd., Claremore, OK 74017 Phone: (918) 283-6262 Fax: (918) 923-6451 Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm CT
Washington, DC Office
McAlester District Office
Muskogee District Office
Claremore District Office