Home / news / Press Releases

Press Releases

Mullin Joins Colleagues to Introduce Resolution Condemning Proposed National Security Law in Hong Kong

On Friday, Congressman Markwayne Mullin (OK-02) joined 16 of his House colleagues to introduce H.Res. 974, a resolution to condemn the Chinese Communist Party's proposed national security law in Hong Kong. The proposed law would ban secession, subversion, and foreign interference, and would radically upend the "one party, two systems" structure. In addition to denouncing the proposal, the resolution calls for the Free World to stand with Hong Kong and states unequivocally the proposal puts Beijing in direct violation of the 1984 Sino-British Joint Declaration and the Hong Kong Basic Law.

“The Chinese Communist Party’s so-called ‘national security’ law is not only a violation of their previous agreements, it’s also a direct attack on Hong Kong’s freedoms,” Mullin said. “We cannot let the CCP get away with this power grab. I am proud to cosponsor this resolution with my colleagues and stand with Hong Kong in their fight against tyranny.”

“Hong Kong has flourished as a bastion of liberty,” Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said in a statement. “The United States strongly urges Beijing to reconsider its disastrous proposal, abide by its international obligations, and respect Hong Kong’s high degree of autonomy, democratic institutions, and civil liberties, which are key to preserving its special status under U.S. law.”

The resolution was cosponsored by Representatives Mike Gallagher (R-WI) Liz Cheney (R-WY), Ted Yoho (R-FL), Elise Stefanik (R-NY), Will Hurd (R-TX), Adam Kinzinger (R-IL), Jim Banks (R-IN), Denver Riggleman (R-VA), Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA), Chip Roy (R-TX), French Hill (R-AR), Jeff Van Drew (R-NJ), Scott Perry (R-PA), Bill Posey (R-FL), Ron Wright (R-TX), and Randy Weber (R-TX).

Text of the resolution can be found at this link.

Stay Connected

Request my newsletter to stay up to date on the latest news from my office

Office Locations

Request a meeting or find out where you can meet our team
  • Washington, DC Office
    2421 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 Phone: (202) 225-2701 Fax: (202) 225-3038 Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00am-6:00pm ET
  • McAlester District Office
    1 E. Choctaw, Suite 175 McAlester, OK 74501 Phone: (918) 423-5951 Fax: (918) 423-1940 Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm CT
  • Claremore District Office
    223 W. Patti Page Blvd., Claremore, OK 74017 Phone: (918) 283-6262 Fax: (918) 923-6451 Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm CT
Washington, DC Office
McAlester District Office
Muskogee District Office
Claremore District Office