Home / news / Press Releases

Press Releases

Mullin Tribal Power Act Passes House

Today, bipartisan legislation sponsored by Congressmen Markwayne Mullin (OK-02) and Tom O’Halleran (AZ-01) unanimously passed the full House of Representatives. H.R. 5541, the Tribal Power Act, will ensure tribal governments can access the federal resources and assistance they need to advance their energy development initiatives.

Full video of Mullin’s remarks can be found here.

Below are Mullin’s remarks on the Tribal Power Act:

Thank you, Mr. Speaker. Today I rise in support of H.R. 5541, the Tribal Power Act.

As the only Native American that serves on Energy and Commerce and one who has lived in Indian Country my entire life, this bill is extremely important to Tribes and strategically help us receive capital we need to become energy efficient and enhance our energy infrastructure.

I have long been a supporter of the economic benefits American energy brings to our communities.

As sovereign nations, Tribes should have the ability to choose and deploy the kind of energy that best works for them.

I am proud to co-lead on this very important issue.

Mullin also recognized the Energy and Commerce Committee Republican Leader, Greg Walden, on the House floor. Leader Walden is retiring at the end of this Congress after serving for 22 years, including the past four years as the top Republican on the Energy and Commerce Committee. 

Stay Connected

Request my newsletter to stay up to date on the latest news from my office

Office Locations

Request a meeting or find out where you can meet our team
  • Washington, DC Office
    2421 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 Phone: (202) 225-2701 Fax: (202) 225-3038 Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00am-6:00pm ET
  • McAlester District Office
    1 E. Choctaw, Suite 175 McAlester, OK 74501 Phone: (918) 423-5951 Fax: (918) 423-1940 Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm CT
  • Claremore District Office
    223 W. Patti Page Blvd., Claremore, OK 74017 Phone: (918) 283-6262 Fax: (918) 923-6451 Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm CT
Washington, DC Office
McAlester District Office
Muskogee District Office
Claremore District Office