Home / news / Press Releases

Press Releases

Inhofe, Mullin Support Pruitt Decision to Delay RMP Rule

f t # e
Washington, June 13, 2017 | comments


U.S. Sen. Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), senior member of the U.S. Senate Environment and Public Works (EPW) committee, today with U.S. Rep. Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.),
member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee,  released a statement in support of U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Administrator Scott Pruitt’s decision to delay the Obama-era Accidental Release Prevention Requirements: Risk Management Programs under the Clean Air Act Rule (RMP rule).

“Administrator Pruitt’s decision to delay the implementation of the RMP rule by 20 months and to review issues with the rule is the right thing to do for our chemical facilities, their workers and the communities they call home,” Inhofe said. “The RMP rule is duplicative and therefore it’s delay will not affect the existing regulations that keep our facilities safe. I applaud the administration’s decision and look forward to EPA’s continued efforts in reassessing this unnecessary rule.”

“I fully support Administrator Pruitt’s decision to further delay the implementation of the EPA’s harmful RMP rule,” Mullin said.  “The RMP rule is excessive and would actually make our chemical facilities less safe by oversharing sensitive information with anybody who asks for it, including bad actors.  Delaying the rule until early 2019 will give the administration the much needed time to ensure our nation’s chemical plants are being operated securely and efficiently, without the overbearing and dangerous regulations that the RMP rule imposes.”


On March 9, Inhofe and Mullin authored an op-ed in The Hill, Security, Safety Top Priorities in Overturning Midnight Regulation.

On March 2, Inhofe along with Sens. John Cornyn (R-Texas), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) and Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), introduced S.J. Res. 28, a Congressional Review Act (CRA) Resolution of Disapproval to blocks the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Accidental Release Prevention Requirements: Risk Management Programs under the Clean Air Act Rule (RMP rule). 

On Feb. 9, Inhofe spoke on the Senate Floor on EPA’s Risk Management Program rule.

On Feb. 2, Mullin introduced H.J. Res. 59, a Congressional Review Act (CRA) joint resolution that blocks the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) Accidental Release Prevention Requirements: Risk Management Programs under the Clean Air Act Rule (RMP rule).    

f t # e

Stay Connected

Request my newsletter to stay up to date on the latest news from my office

Office Locations

Request a meeting or find out where you can meet our team
  • Washington, DC Office
    2421 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 Phone: (202) 225-2701 Fax: (202) 225-3038 Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00am-6:00pm ET
  • McAlester District Office
    1 E. Choctaw, Suite 175 McAlester, OK 74501 Phone: (918) 423-5951 Fax: (918) 423-1940 Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm CT
  • Muskogee District Office
     811-A N. York St., Muskogee, OK 74403 Phone: (918) 687-2533 Fax: (918) 686-0128 Hours: By appointment only.
  • Claremore District Office
    223 W. Patti Page Blvd., Claremore, OK 74017 Phone: (918) 283-6262 Fax: (918) 923-6451 Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm CT
Washington, DC Office
McAlester District Office
Muskogee District Office
Claremore District Office